In the Gloaming

October 10, 2011 at 8:00 pm Leave a comment

Lately I’ve been riding cyclocross with friends a couple of evenings a week.  Technically, the course we ride is meant for cross country running, but that isn’t stopping local cyclists.  Besides us, there usually are one or two others riding it after work every day.  The course is hilly, and there are sharp turns at the bottom of the hills.  Taking the turns slowly makes the hills harder to climb, and that means a good workout.

My friends are new to cyclocross, so we’ve been taking it a little easy.  They weren’t able to make it tonight, so I rode the course alone (except for another cyclist and a few dog walkers and runners).  I rode the entire circuit very hard once without stopping, then–gasping for breath–paused at the top of every other hill to take photos.  This looks impressive from afar because you can’t hear my heavy breathing nor see my hands shaking while trying to hold the camera still.  Luckily, it was a beautiful evening and there was plenty to photograph.  I wasn’t able to capture the fall colors–my camera’s not that good–but the sunset was magnificent.  A hot air balloon punctuated the sky at one point, giving another reason to pause.  I wished my friends could have been there to share it.  Maybe next time.

Entry filed under: Bicycling. Tags: , .

Community Pedal Assist

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Passionate about Bicycling

I don't bicycle for a living, but I do bicycle to live. It's that simple.

Get Spoked

Get Spoked

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Mileage

2012: 3,624 miles total
2011: 1,632 miles total
2010: 3,132 miles total
2009: 2,840 miles total

getspoked.wordpress.com


