Best Part of the Day

September 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm Leave a comment

Friend Timmy and I signed a petition at the USA Pro Cycling Challenge’s street fair in Denver a couple of weeks ago.  It was in support of bike commuting, one of our favorite activities.  As he put pen to paper, Tim told the person working the booth, “I enjoy bike commuting so much.  It’s a great start to the day.  It makes the whole day better.”  So true, Timmy.

SunriseOn today’s crisp, late summer morning, I rolled the bike down to the curb and looked up at pink clouds floating in a vivid blue pre-dawn sky.  An urban rooster crowed in the neighborhood as I pedaled west.  The clouds slowly lost their pink hue, then turned a glowing white at sunrise.  The treetops were touched with gold as I cycled through the city park, and I knew I’d have to ride fast to make it to my favorite spot before the mist burned away.  It was still there when I stopped for a photo.  Just a half-mile later, little wisps of steam rose above a pond where a man stood fishing by the shoreline.  Geese flying overhead formed a “V” pointing south. I coasted the final mile–all of it downhill–singing “Maggie May” in a happy, off-key voice.

A coworker announced in the lunchroom at noon today, “We really should be outside.  It’s so beautiful out there.”  I smiled in agreement, but was thinking about the best part of the day hours earlier.  Yes, we really should be outside.  On our bikes.  In the early morning.

Entry filed under: Bicycling, Commuting. Tags: .

Weekend in Colorado Community

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Passionate about Bicycling

I don't bicycle for a living, but I do bicycle to live. It's that simple.

Get Spoked

Get Spoked

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Mileage

2012: 3,624 miles total
2011: 1,632 miles total
2010: 3,132 miles total
2009: 2,840 miles total

getspoked.wordpress.com


