A Kick in the Pants

September 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm 1 comment

Sept. 6, 2010
Total mileage:  2,428

Our in-town interval training consists of riding the same hill over and over again, each time trying to meet or beat the miles-per-hour goal for the day.  It’s an effective exercise.  The hill isn’t steep but it is persistent, lasting about 3/4 of a mile.  I ride it repeatedly, day after day.  I can’t tell you how many times I have gone up that hill this season.  Is it any wonder, then, that sometimes my mind slips sideways to its happy place?

This past weekend I was spinning up the hill for the final time on a training ride.  Having already met my mph goal for the day, I’m afraid I allowed my mind and body to drift into a lazy daydream.  The Sweetpea’s speed dropped below 12 mph.  Lax, so lax.

Then a familiar sound pierced my reverie:  ticka-ticka-ticka, toenails clicking on pavement.  A quick glance over my shoulder showed a small canine in full chase, about 10 yards back, not wasting its breath on barking.

Perfect!

My legs tightened and my cadence increased dramatically.  The cycle computer zoomed up to around 16 mph.  The dog didn’t give up until we both had climbed the hill, when it flattened out and he realized he couldn’t win.

Thanks, Mr. Canine, for the propitious kick in the pants, and on the steepest part of the hill, too.  Have you considered moonlighting as a trainer?

Entry filed under: Bicycling. Tags: , .

Prairie Spirit Trail Another Reason We Don’t Ride Sidewalks

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Micah  |  September 7, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Reminds me of “Breaking Away”. Even when you know they can’t hurt you, I do love making their little lungs burn!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Passionate about Bicycling

I don't bicycle for a living, but I do bicycle to live. It's that simple.

Get Spoked

Get Spoked

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Mileage

2012: 3,624 miles total
2011: 1,632 miles total
2010: 3,132 miles total
2009: 2,840 miles total

getspoked.wordpress.com


