Accidental Fashionista

April 7, 2010 at 7:52 pm 5 comments

April 7, 2010
Total mileage: 230

One of life’s mixed blessings has just occurred. Mr. Spoked found this fashion alert while flipping through the latest issue of Bicycling Magazine.

That’s right, because of the glorious Sweetpea I am one of “cycling’s tastemakers”  for 2010.  Only in the velo world could this have happened.

I’m also a pragmatist, though. Because the Sweetpea’s color is on the cutting edge this year, it will be all the rage next year, and by the following year it will be “like, soooo 2010.”

Obviously I need to start planning my response to such a heinous charge. I’m completely innocent of being fashion-forward when it comes to bicycles, and need your advice.

Should I:

  • make the most of it this year, telling everyone who’ll listen that powder blue bicycles are de rigeuer,
  • say nothing this year, but next year brag that I had the color first,
  • start working on my best snarky “it’s retro” attitude for 2012,
  • or just shut up about it all three years?

I’m leaning towards number two.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Bicycling. Tags: , .

Custom, Part 4: Not the Final Chapter The Best Laid Plans

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike Tracy  |  April 7, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Although I approve of the emotional restraint in number two, why worry? Seasonalism only applies to pret-a-porter wheels. Haute couture doesn’t get parked in the back of the rack. You’ve bamboo fenders for gosh sakes!

    Reply
  • 2. getspoked  |  April 8, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Mais, bien sur! Monsieur Tracy, you always have excellent advice.

    Reply
  • 3. linda  |  April 8, 2010 at 7:39 am

    #3

    now if I could figure out the PMS color I would know for sure!

    Reply
    • 4. getspoked  |  April 8, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      Wow, Linda, I didn’t know you had an opinion on colors!

      Reply
  • 5. linda  |  April 11, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    good one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Passionate about Bicycling

I don't bicycle for a living, but I do bicycle to live. It's that simple.

Get Spoked

Get Spoked

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Mileage

2012: 3,624 miles total
2011: 1,632 miles total
2010: 3,132 miles total
2009: 2,840 miles total

getspoked.wordpress.com


